Unplug – Short clip from Richard Williams

I always remember reading in The Animator’s Survival Kit by Richard Williams that his first lesson is to unplug. Turn off all your music and uplug your headphones. He says that by doing things you are immediately focused on your work and your work will double in quality. I definitely think this is true, and while I love to listen to music while I work, I have found it can be utterly distracting and notice that when I do turn it off and can just focus in my room/quiet computer lab my work tends to be the best.

Anyways, I stumbled across this video of Richard giving a lecture for his master class it was rather humorous because he acted out the little blurb from his book where he asked Milt Khal the question of whether he listened to classical music while he animated. It’s worth taking a look at, I got a good little laugh from it.

