Summer plans and more…

It is finally here… summer vacation, the long school year has come to an end. It has been a great year with a lot of stress and a lot of great times with many friends that are moving on to bigger and better things. (The downside of being friends with a lot of people that are a year older than you).

As for myself, I’ve got a lot of things that I plan on doing this summer in order to better myself as an animator. My biggest goal is that I want to really master or at least attempt to master the key fundamentals of animation. So with that said, I’m going to be doing a lot of the really basic exercises that all aspiring animators should do at some point in their training.

I’m posting this on here as a way to keep myself motivated throughout the summer, and I want to post all the progress I am making. My plan as it is right now, is to try and mimic many of the exercises from the first class of Animation Mentor as I’ve really not seen a better plan of study than that for learning animation. I hope to complete atleast 1-2 exercises each week. I’m not going for quantity, I really want to master these concepts, as I feel that is where I’ve lacked the most training in my current education. Below is a brief list of some of the exercises I have in mind.

Week 1: – Go out and sketch people in various different poses. Very quick and simple gestures just to get the pose down. Around 25-30 sketches.
– Pose the character in Maya, Focusing on the principles of strong sillohuettes, really push the poses.

Week 2: Ball Bounces
-Planning ball bounce
-Vanilla bounce, keep it very simple really hammer in the concepts of timing and spacing
-Different types of ball bounces (heavy, light, characterized, BIG, small)

Week 3: Obstacle Course with Ball
-Big emphasis on planning

Week 4: Ball with legs
-One legged, hopping
-Two legged, hopping
-Two legged, vanilla walk

I plan on using the great resources at http://www.11secondclub.com and http://www.digitaltutors.com to get plenty of critiques of my work so that I’m really learning a lot.

Long post, but that should keep me busy for the first month or so of summer. On top of all this, I’m still working part time at my university job as a student web designer, and still making sure to take a moment to enjoy my time off as well, by running a lot and reading plenty. I’m also planning a nice trip down to sunny florida for a week or so and the occisional trip back home to see the family so all in all it’s going to be an interesting and busy summer… I hope.

