My time at Purdue comes to an end…

Well, this is a little bit more of a general post but I felt like writing about it. Today, I officially attended my final class as an undergraduate at Purdue University. The past four years have been so many different things. There were times that I didn’t ever want to leave, and times that I just couldn’t stand it here any more. It has been one of the greatest experiences of my life and I have met people that I will remember for the rest of my life.

In my four years here, I studied in the Computer Graphics Technology program through the College of Technology. It’s not the worlds most perfect program for someone who aspires to be an animator but I still think I’ve learned some very valuable things and have grown as a cg artist/technician over these years. Coming into the program out of high school, I didn’t have a clear focus of being a character animator but I knew I wanted to work in CG. Through this program I got to learn about everything in computer graphics, things like print design and more web graphics all the way to graphics programming. I made my focus animation but because of the nature of the degree I got exposed to much more, and I hope that one day this broader experience will come in handy.

I feel as though I have grown tremendously as a person because of this experience and am so fortunate to have had the opportunity to have gone through it. I know for a fact that there have been moments where I have been rather cynical about higher education and some of the more negative aspects of large universities but overall, this truly has been a fulfilling experience. It’s hard to imagine how much I have changed and grown over these fours years! If I were to tell my high school self that in just four years I’d be giving a presentation to 100 people about a virtual reality head-tracking system developed with 4 other people in just short of 15 weeks! Or that I might possibly have a paper published, or that I managed to put together a character animation demo reel on top of working as a web designer for 3 out of the 4 years of college. I wouldn’t have believed it one bit!

I’ve met an amazing amount of friends and professors that I hope to stay in touch with because they have all played important roles in my life. Now onto the future… I am busy applying for jobs and waiting to attend my next journey in progressing as an animator and towards my dream of becoming one! I’m applying to Animation Mentor in a few weeks and will likely be attending it starting in September! I cannot wait to begin. I honestly don’t know if I’ve ever been as excited about school as I am about Animation Mentor.

It’s certainly a point in my life with so much unknowns and it can be very daunting when thinking about things but I know that as long as I keep trying and never give up everything will work out for the best. So now enough rambling and it’s time to move on into the next chapter of my life!

Leave a Reply

