2012 – My Year In Review

Well, it is now officially 2013 and another year has come and gone. 2012 was a year full of a lot of different experiences, luckily in my life they were mostly all positive and I am extremely grateful for that!

One of the biggest highlights of my year was most definitely graduating from Purdue University with my Bachelor’s Degree! I had a lot of wonderful times at Purdue, and many stressful times. I learned a lot about myself as a person over those four years and even though I may not have learned as much as I wanted to in-regards to animation, I still learned a lot of things that can only help me succeed in life. Also, without Purdue, I wouldn’t have met so many long lasting and true friends.

After graduating from college I quickly applied and got accepted to Animation Mentor! This is by far one of the best decisions I’ve made in terms of my education and I am so excited to keep furthering my education through them. After graduating from the comfort of college life, I quickly learned about living in the “real adult world”. Balancing my day job, freelance projects and Animation Mentor has been a good amount of work but I really enjoy it and I know that someday all of this will pay off!

2012 was also a wonderful year for my family as well. My amazing older sister married the man of her dreams and I am so happy for them. Getting to see her get married was a lot of fun and I am so happy for her and husband. My sister is a lot different than me when it comes to a lot of things but she has always been an inspiration to me with how successful she has been in everything she does and I’m very proud of her. Also, my super hardworking mother finally got to retire after 34+ years of teaching high school. It is so great knowing my mom and dad can finally relax and enjoy their retirement, they worked so hard to give my sister and I so many wonderful opportunities and I love them so much for that!

This post is not really related to animation, but I felt like reflecting on my past year because one thing I have come to learn from my brief time at Animation Mentor so far is that being a great animator requires that you put a little bit of your “life” and your experiences into your work and that having a life outside of the computer pixels is extremely important. How can we expect to breath life into our characters without experiencing life itself?

So, moving into 2013; I’m planning on learning, and growing as an animator and a person. I hope to have many more wonderful experiences; I’m sure there will be bumps and obstacles to overcome but that is to be expected. Here’s to a happy and healthy 2013 and I hope everyone accomplishes their goals for the new year. I know I have quite a few in-front of me!

Leave a Reply

