AM Class 2 – Week 8: Blocking Final Assignment

Week 8 has just ended and it was a busy and fun week! I had to begin blocking my third and final assignment for Class 2! I am really trying extra hard on this assignment to make it the best one I’ve done so far. I have already had to deal with some interesting obstacles while tackling this assignment. First, I had to figure out a good method for constraining the bomb to Stewie’s hands and also learn how to make a seamless IK/FK switch while animating. I really feel like this shot will be a great learning opportunity for me to grow. I am really looking forward to how it will turn out. One of the biggest things I have focused on while starting my assignment is creating really strong poses and treating every key in Maya as a “drawing”.

Part of the great thing about Animation Mentor is being exposed to so many different professional animator’s workflows for animating a shot. I am still working on “finding” my workflow but with each assignment, I learn things I like and things I don’t like and am slowly starting to “find” my workflow. It is something that changes depending on each shot but you will always have some parts that are consistent and it is important to have a well thought-out and logical workflow when animating because it makes for a more enjoyable and stronger animation.

Well, a little bit of a shot post this week so here is my blocking! Hope you enjoy, and stay tuned for next week’s update.

Blocking

AM Class 2 – Week 8: Blocking from matt sackley on Vimeo.

Leave a Reply

