AM Class 6 – Updates!

layoutWow, so I have neglected making a post on here for far too long! I have been very busy focusing on my work for my final term at Animation Mentor. This class is called Polish & Portfolio, which is pretty much exactly how it sounds. It is all about creating the best demo reel/portfolio of work we can by the end of the term so that we have a good foundation to start looking for jobs. My mentor for this course is the Sean Sexton from DreamWorks Animation. Sean is absolutely awesome, he makes every Q&A super informative and packed with great information, advice and stories to keep us motivated. I also really enjoy the personalized nature of this class. On the first day of class he talked to each of us individually and assessed our previous work as well as what our goals are for the future. He took notes and then has made individualized plans for each of us to get the most out of the class with him. After assessing my previous work, he determined that I had some good work to use for my demo reel and we would spend the first 4-5 weeks really polishing and improving a few shots even more for my demo reel. On top of that he had me start planning ideas for a new shot, one that involves a good showcase of acting, body mechanics and has some cartoony style to it . He said that all studios want to see an animator that can really make a character move throughout a scene and act on top of that.

For my blog updates this term, I am going to only be posting about my progress on my new shot and at the end I’ll post up my graduation demo reel which will also include previous shots that you have seen if you have followed my progress over the last 18 months. However, these older shots should look more refined, after doing some really detailed polish on them.

This week, I’ve got some video reference and my rough layout pass to show you. The layout pass is used to figure out things like camera staging and to get an understanding of how the character will move throughout the scene. This new shot is also a new style of animation and workflow for me. I am following the workflow Sean demonstrated for us in class which involves using video reference very closely during the blocking stage. I will discuss this in more detail when I post my blocking pass.

Video Reference:

Rough Layout

Leave a Reply

